Who I Am and Why This Blog Exists

We’ll start with the “Who Am I?” portion of this entry and go from there.  I’m a 26 year-old, Zumba Instructor and Grad Student (at Rowan University in the Higher Education Administration program) who loves life, and wants to get the most out of it (I mean, who doesn’t?).

26 days ago (exactly), I opted to begin a Nutritional Cleansing journey.  Before I made this decision I worked out pretty consistently and ate as clean as possible, but never felt my best.  Following this program, I feel better than I have EVER felt before.  My energy levels are up, I’m sleeping better, and I’m in the best shape of my life.

With all of that being said, in addition to having the shakes and essential vitamins, I’m consuming 2 snacks and 1 well-balanced meal a day.  My goal was to cook a new, creative, delicious meal for all 26 days I was eating lunches or dinners on the program.

  • Something you should know about me:  I LOVE food, I LOVE cooking, and I cannot eat the same thing two days in a row without being bored.  THIS is how I developed the challenge for myself to make something new every day.

I started posting pictures of my meals every night on Instagram and Facebook (yeah, I’m that girl), and I got a MAJOR response of interest from not only the people that were cleansing, but ALSO the ones that weren’t.

I was so excited about introducing my family and friends to delicious meals that were also healthy … AND EASY … that I decided to make this blog.  The last 26 days my requirements for meals have been:

  • No Alcohol
  • No Caffeine
  • No Dairy
  • No Gluten
  • No white breads / pastas / rices
  • No processed foods (deli meats / hot dogs, etc.)
  • No sodas / diet sodas / iced teas
  • No fruits (except a half a green apple) because of the high sugar content.
  • No peas, carrots or corn (for the same reason as the fruits)
  • No pork / red meat
  • No Artificial Sweeteners

The things I was told to focus on for each of my meals were:

  • Lean Proteins
  • Complex Carbohydrates
  • Healthy Fats
  • Vegetables

For those of you thinking, “Yeah right, you just took the delicious out of any food you could make”, I ask that you try any of these recipes and tell me that they’re not awesome, filling and leave you (and your family / friends) wanting more.

The next 26 posts will be my meals from each of the days I cooked a lunch or dinner – AND, after my 30 days is up, I’ll be sure to keep adding new & fun recipes.

Hope you all enjoy ❤ .

Happily & Healthily Yours,

Kristin

5 thoughts on “Who I Am and Why This Blog Exists

Leave a Reply

